4 Comments

New batches in planning

Now that I have my new Barley Crusher grain mill, I bought a 50 lb bag of 2-row malt for just over $50, as well as batch-specific specialty malts for my next two planned brews: a porter and a west coast IPA. The porter because I realized I’ve only brewed porter once, and it was my first AG batch. I enjoyed it, and had gotten the recipe from someone at Smuttynose, based on their Robust Porter. Well, in competition, it was judged as far too bitter. So, this time I’m opting for a porter recipe for Deschutes Black Butte Porter, obtained on the Brewing Network’s “Can You Brew It” show. The IPA, well.. I know I tend to brew hoppy beers for the most part, but I have a LOT of Mosaic hops in the freezer still, and want to put them to good use. Sticking with the grain bill from my previous Mosaic IPA brew for the most part. That grain bill was based on Ballast Point’s Sculpin IPA, although I mistakenly substituted C40 for the CaraVienne malt in their recipe. C20 is a closer match I believe. However, this time I just subbed Vienna malt for the CaraVienne.

I will likely brew the IPA first, as I currently only have one primary fermenter. I will move the IPA to a 5 gallon secondary fermenter for dry hopping after about 10 days, freeing up the primary again for the Porter. I intend to leave the Porter in the primary fermenter through completion.

The Porter recipe called for half pounds each of Chocolate (400 Lovibond) malt, and lighter (300-350L) English chocolate. My homebrew shop didn’t have that lighter chocolate. So, here’s where I started to improvise a bit. I opted for .75 lb of the 400L chocolate malt. BUT, I am now wondering (as this is looking to come out a bit more brown than black) I may opt to add a small amount of roasted barley. Maybe 3-4 ounces. I know a small amount of roasted barley is very noticeable in paler ales, but is this enough to impact the Porter? I don’t want a ton of roast, just a little, plus some more color. This is why I’m thinking only about 4 oz at the most.

Another question I have is about the bittering hops. The CYBI recipe show stated that Nugget or Galena could be used. I was thinking about Magnum, or possibly Norther Brewer (as I have those handy, as opposed to buying the Nugget or Galena)

Below is where the recipe now stands in my brewing software. Looking for thoughts on the roasted barley, bittering hops, or anything else you may notice. Thanks!

 

Recipe: Black Butte Porter
Style: 12B-Porter-Robust Porter

Recipe Overview

Wort Volume Before Boil: 7.50 US gals
Wort Volume After Boil: 6.00 US gals
Volume Transferred: 5.50 US gals
Water Added: 0.00 US gals
Volume At Pitching: 5.50 US gals
Final Batch Volume: 5.00 US gals
Expected Pre-Boil Gravity: 1.045 SG
Expected OG: 1.056 SG
Expected FG: 1.015 SG
Expected ABV: 5.5 %
Expected ABW: 4.3 %
Expected IBU (using Rager): 37.7
Expected Color: 26.7 SRM
Apparent Attenuation: 73.0 %
Mash Efficiency: 75.0 %
Boil Duration: 60.0 mins
Fermentation Temperature: 66 degF

Fermentables
US 2-Row Malt 9.00 lb (73.8 %) In Mash/Steeped
US White Wheat Malt 1.00 lb (8.2 %) In Mash/Steeped
US Caramel 80L Malt 0.75 lb (6.1 %) In Mash/Steeped
US Chocolate Malt 0.75 lb (6.1 %) In Mash/Steeped
US Carapils Malt 0.50 lb (4.1 %) In Mash/Steeped
US Roasted Barley 0.20 lb (1.6 %) In Mash/Steeped

Hops
US Nugget (13.0 % alpha) 18 g Loose Pellet Hops used 60 Min From End
US Cascade (4.5 % alpha) 7 g Loose Pellet Hops used 30 Min From End
German Tettnang (4.5 % alpha) 7 g Loose Pellet Hops used 5 Min From End

Other Ingredients

Yeast: DCL S-04-SafAle

Mash Schedule
Mash Type: Full Mash
Schedule Name:Single Step Infusion (68C/154F)
Step: Rest at 154 degF for 60 mins

Recipe Notes
can use Nugget or Galena at 60, Mt Hood or Tettnanger at 5

 

4 comments on “New batches in planning

  1. This is right up my alley as I’ve brewed the Black Butte Porter 4 times. It is my assumption that you really need that amount of Chocolate Malt. Now, personally I would of used 1.5# of what the store had and replaced the rest with 4oz of Carafa III and 3oz of Roasted Barley.

    As for the hops, I’ve used Magnum on all on batches of this beer, while close it is still mind blowing good. Also I normally use Williamette or Northern Brewer for the finishing hops also.

    What is really strange, is the fact that this morning I was tweaking this recipe into a Bourbon Porter recipe. Bumping the gravity to 1.074-ish.

    • From the CYBI database of recipes on homebrewtalk.com:
      10.58 lbs pale malt
      1.39 lbs wheat malt
      0.7 lbs crystal 80
      0.42 lbs american chocolate 400l
      0.42 lbs english chocolate malt 300-350l
      0.42 lbs carapils

      They list an OG of 1.058, FG of 1.012. But the Deschuttes site lists it at only 5.2% ABV, and Original gravity: 1.055-1.060, Final gravity 1.016-1.019.

      The CYBI recipe calls for less than 1 lb of chocolate combined. You’re saying 1.5 lb? Or is that just your preference, to use more chocolate?

      • Sorry I was off. One pound total of Choco. If you dont have both lt and dk chocolate I would use carafa III and roasted Barley at a 3-1 ratio for the other 8oz.

  2. I’ve got 3/4# chocolate, so I’ll either pick up more chocolate, or the carafa III and roasted barley. Black malt gives that burnt taste, right? And carafa III is similar to black? Dehusked would prob be best if I could find it (to avoid the astringency), but I may just get more chocolate. Not a big fan of the burnt flavor I used to find in some Porters. Choc and coffee flavors work for me.

Leave a Reply

